02 Apr

Music Wheel

The music wheel consists of 7 musical notes i.e C, D, E, F, G, A, B. This music wheel is the base foundation for naming of musical notes.

We have only first 7 alphabets (7 shuddh swar) in music which forms the music wheel. 

For instance – A, B, C, D, E, F and G.

The musical alphabets start with C

For instance – C, D, E, F, G, A, B and C.

Memorize this diagram in both clockwise and anti-clockwise directions.

Let's take an example of a standard size keyboard

We can observe that –

The music wheel (7 white keys) repeats in clockwise direction from left to right.

Broadly, a set of 12 keys (7 white + 5 black) repeats at regular intervals on the keyboard.

Remember that the C note appears immediately on the left hand side of the 1st black key of the repeating set.

Next Read: Naming the Black Keys

Follow my Instagram: @dhruvpiano

One thought on “Music Wheel”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *